2018 Convention

Hundreds of delegates representing unions across the state gathered July 17-19 in Wenatchee for the 2018 Constitutional Convention of the Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO. Under the theme “Union Strong,” the convention featured distinguished guest speakers and educational workshops  focused on staying strong amid legal and legislative efforts to take away workers’ freedom to join together in unions.

See the 2018 WSLC Resolutions approved by convention delegates.

Check out The Stand’s summary of the July 17 and July 18 plenary sessions. Also, click on the following links to see TVW clips of some of the key speakers and presentations of those days’ plenary sessions.


TUESDAY, JULY 17, 2018


AFL-CIO Secretary Treasurer Liz Shuler’s keynote address:


WSLC President Jeff Johnson

2018 Power to the People Awards: MLK Labor and Jeff Johnson

Elise Bryant, President of the Coalition of Labor Union Women

2018 Legislative Leader Awards: Sen. Karen Keiser and Rep. Mike Sells

Author/commentator Bill Fletcher, Jr.

Labor photojournalist David Bacon

State Lands Commissioner Hilary Franz




WSLC Secretary Treasurer Lynne Dodson

Mark Dudzig of the Labor Campaign for Single Payer:



2018 Mother Jones Awards (organization): UAW 4141 and WFSE 3488

2018 Mother Jones Award (individual): Rick Johnson of IBEW 77

Clean Energy Panel: Stephanie Celt of the Washington Blue Green Alliance, Kyong Berry of UFCW 21, Kim Powe of Front and Centered, and former refinery worker and USW leader Steve Garey

#MeToo Panel: Terri Myette of IAM 751-F, Maddy Shumate of Teamsters 117, Monica Bryant of UFCW 21, Katie Garrow of MLK Labor, and Nicole Reedy of IBEW 77, and Rosalinda Guillen of Community to Community

2018 Elsie Schrader Award: Kamaria Hightower



At Wednesday night’s 2018 WSLC Convention Banquet, the following awards were presented. (The banquet was not filmed by TVW.)

2018 Bruce Brennan Award:

Elmer Arter, Apprenticeship Coordinator/Field Supervisor, Washington State Department of Labor and Industries

2018 President’s Awards:

Rev. Gregory Christopher of the Shiloh Baptist Church in Tacoma

Rev. Paul Benz of the Faith Action Network

Janet Hays of the WSLC


Comments are closed.